When is Hello Kitty going to say goodbye?

For those of you who don’t know about it, Hello Kitty is an infectious disease that rots the body and soul a Japanese phenomenon that has swept through not only Asia, but also internationally, conquering hearts and minds (both male and female).  Introduced by Sanrio, it’s based around a stupidly cute white cat and her family.  She was originally intended to be a character for young girls.  Cute cat + little girl = hours of fun time.  Fine, this I can understand.  It’s when “grown-ups” started to buy Hello Kitty junk that I began to feel a little afraid for the human race.

Ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration, and the world isn’t going to end because of Hello Kitty, but I find it extremely irritating to look everywhere and see her innocently moronic visage staring at me – with those little, guilt-tripping eyes – making me feel guilty for being annoyed by her.  After all, she’s so bloody cute!

See what I mean?

Not only does she reign supreme among pencil cases and lunch boxes, she has infiltrated the ranks of purses and handbags as well.  I’ve seen grown women walking around with crappy looking Hello Kitty bags and cheap ass Hello Kitty sunglasses.  Hordes of people from all walks of life have been brainwashed into buying shoddy goods with her face on it.

I asked an engineer (female) friend of mine what the fascination was, and she said, “It’s SOOOOO cute!!!”.

There is something strange about watching an intelligent, rational and successful woman gush like a 12 year old girl about a stupid cat on a piece of cloth.

Also, it’s not only the girls and women.  Dudes have also bought into this insanity.  And honestly, the last thing the younger male population of Taiwan needs is something to make them look MORE feminine…what with the ultra tight pants, metrosexual haircuts and generally girly-type mannerisms (I know, I know I’m being very culturally biased right now, but sometimes I REALLY cannot tell the difference between a guy and a girl – but that’s a post for another day).

She has appeared on souped up cars, helmets, guns, electric guitars and even condoms.  Yah….condoms.  Why is a cartoon for little girls showing up on condoms?  Never used a Hello Kitty one, but I’d feel like a pedophile if I did.

Besides the ‘domes, Hello Kitty has appeared on almost everything.  Here are a few things that she has NO business being on.

Seriously hardcore.

Rasta Kitty?

This one just kills me.  Beer?  Is nothing sacred anymore?

Hmm…I can see myself using her for this purpose.

And the next one, I couldn’t believe….I guess I really underestimated the reach of this lipless wonder:

EVA air (a Taiwanese airline) has not 1, but 6 passenger planes fully decked out with Hello Kitty.  From inside out it’s a fantasy playground for 12 year old girls (or 40 year old child molesters).

Sanrio has done a masterful job with the marketing of this brand.  There are Hello Kitty themed restaurants, videogames, TV programs and even a hospital.  She has spread her nefarious claws everywhere…there’s even a murder named after her.  Pop stars have befriended her and she was the ambassador of Tourism for Japan (to China and Hong Kong).  In recent years, her popularity has declined (only to be replaced by other equally irritating idols) but she is still omnipresent.

Sigh…I guess I have to adapt and accept that I will never see her wave goodbye, at least in my lifetime.

5 Responses to “When is Hello Kitty going to say goodbye?”


  1. 1 June November 16, 2012 at 1:39 am

    Ack! I think this IS the beginning of the end . . .

  2. 2 vgag December 27, 2012 at 6:03 am

    I hate to admit this, but when I was living in Taipei last year, I actually went out and bought a Hello Kitty rice cooker. LOL

  3. 3 666racing January 7, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    i believe thats its just a way to put normal people in debt

  4. 5 jermia risper January 14, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    hellokitty is all over my hous and my keys.


Leave a Reply

